Press "Enter" to skip to content

All arrangements put in place for tomorrow’s assembly elections in Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry, Assam and West Bengal

Share With Your Friends

In West Bengal, all arrangements have been put in place for tomorrow polling in 31 assembly constituencies spread over three districts, Hooghly, Howrah and South 24 Pargana. Besides State police jawans, Central Armed Para Military forces have been deployed at all 10 thousand 871 polling booths in these poll-bound constituencies.


Election Commission has made arrangements for live webcasting and videography of booths to ensure free, fair and peaceful elections. In view of rising Corona cases wearing of face masks are compulsory for polling personnel and voters. Covid-19 protocols would be strictly followed at all polling booths.


In this phase, over 78 lakh 52 thousand electorates will decide the political fortune of 205 candidates including 13 women. AIR Correspondent reports that in the third phase of polling voters will decide the electoral fortunes of three ministers of Mamata Banerjee government several sitting MLAs, cine stars and other senior leaders.


Electoral fortune of state ministers Dr. Nirmal Manjhi, Ashima Patra and Giyasuddin Ahmed and assembly speaker Biman Banerjee are at the stake in this phase. Cine stars Tanushree Chakroborty and Papia Adhikari trying their luck from Shyampur and Uluberia Dakshin assembly segments. Journalist turned politician Swapan Dasgupta is also in the fray from Tarakeswar assembly seat in this phase.


After the polling political fate of several senior leaders like Sujata Mondol, Amitava Chakroborty, Kanti Ganguly and Kalipada Mondol will be locked in EVMs tomorrow.


As Kerala is all set to go to polls tomorrow, election arrangements are in full swing in the State. AIR correspondent reports that the distribution of polling materials, including voting machines, will begin from today morning.


Elaborate arrangements are being done in the State for the smooth conduct of assembly polls, in which a total of 957 candidates is contesting in 140 constituencies across the State.


The Polling is from 7 am till 7 pm tomorrow, adhering to strict covid protocols.


In naxal affected areas the polling will end at 6 PM. Webcasting facility will be provided in most of the polling booth to prevent bogus or double voting.CCTV is arranged in areas with technical difficulty.


Nearly 60000 police officials including central forces are being deployed across the State. Meanwhile, silent campaign will continue in the State today.


The spirited campaign for the April 6 Assembly elections in the union territory of Puducherry came to a close at 7 PM yesterday evening. AIR correspondent reports, as many as 10, 04, 507 voters will decide the electoral fortune of 324 candidates in the fray in the April 6 assembly election here.



The main contestants include former chief minister N Rangasamy who is contesting from Thattanchavady as well as Yanam constituencies, former ministers Shajahan, Kamalakannan, Namasivayam, Panneerselvam and Kalyanasundaram, PCC president A V Subramanian and several former legislators.


While, no women candidates are given seat in the BJP and AIADMK, the congress gave ticket to the sitting member Vijayaveni and N R Congress to 2 women candidates.


The Naam Tamizhar Katchi gave chance to 14 women and the Makkal Neethi Maiam (MNM) to 3 women. The congress and N R Congress is having a straight fight in nine constituencies, five with DMK , one with CPI and one with Vidithalai Chiruthaigal Katchi.


The BJP is fighting against Congress in 5 constituencies and against DMK in four. The AIADMK is locking horns with DMK in four constituencies and against the congress in one constituency. Of the 14 seats the congress is contesting, the party had fielded 5 new faces and is supporting an independent in Yanam while, the DMK is fielding 7 new faces of the 13 seats the party is contesting and the BJP is fielding 3 new faces.


Of the contestants,N R Congress president N Rangasamy, PCC president A V Subramanian and Marimuthu(Nedungadu) are above 60 years while, BJP candidates V Richards (Nellithoppe) is the youngest candidate.


In Tamilnadu, poll preparations are in full swing in all 234 assembly constituencies and also in the Lok Sabha constituency of Kanyakumari for the single-phase elections to be held tomorrow. AIR Correspondent reports, with the heat of campaigning coming to an end yesterday, expenditure committees, nodal officers and district level control rooms have been set up.


105 expenditure-sensitive constituencies were identified and extra efforts were taken to oversee all the aspects of election expenditure monitoring. The flying squads have seized 428 crore rupees worth cash and kind without proper documents till now.


118 Expenditure observers will be monitoring the expenses of candidates and political parties. More than 4000 liquor bottles and 7600 fermented wash were seized in different places.


On a different note, election commission has collaborated with UBER for free rides to elderly and people with disabilities.


To ensure that no one is left out, the elderly above 80 years of age can exercise their franchise from home to respective polling stations and back to home upto five kms offered with 100 percent discount of upto Rs. 200. The 16th Assembly election is unique with Covid regulations too.

More from PoliticsMore posts in Politics »
More from Trending TodayMore posts in Trending Today »

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *